10 Things I Miss About America

I have officially lived in France for 18 months now and I can’t believe how fast the time has flown by. I love living in France, but there are definitely things I miss about the states. And I’ve been reminiscing a bit about life in the states this week, so here’s a list of the 10 things I miss the most about the USA (besides family and friends, of course!).

1. Sweet Tea. Southern sweet tea. It’s more than just sugar in iced tea, it’s a lifestyle.

2. 24 hour Library. Neoma’s library closes by 10pm daily, earlier on Saturdays, and is closed on Sundays. During finals week, the library is typically open fewer hours instead having extended hours. Especially now that I’m elbow deep in thesis work, I miss having access to the library 24/7 and only having to walk 10 minutes to get there.

3. Band. And having a variety of activities in general. In college in the US, being well-rounded and involved in campus life is really important. However, in France, as a student, your job is to study and go to class. There are a few sports teams and a student association, but that’s about it. I miss the diversity of activities that the US colleges offer, especially band.

4. Having a Consistent Schedule. After 3 semesters of crazy schedules and 3-hour long classes, you think that I would be used to it now. And I am, well, sort of. I have learned how to work well in the French school system and class schedule, but I don’t like it. I’m looking forward to having a fairly consistent work schedule after school.

5. Wearing sweats to class. While at Elon, I wore a t-shirt and jeans to class most days, but didn’t take enough advantage of the acceptability of wearing sweats or pajamas to class. Here’s to the days of wearing a t-shirt, hoodie, and sweat pants to class.

6. Food. Mac ‘n Cheese, canned black beans, Pop Tarts, Lucky Charms, bagels, the list of American foods I miss goes on and on. I haven’t found it hard to be a vegetarian in France, but there are definitely some things that I miss: soy bacon, tofurkey, veggie burgers. Yummm. And don’t get me started on restaurants. I have a long list of places I miss (Panera Bread, Chipotle, The Root, Cookout…).

7. Shopping Hours. Almost everything closes for lunch and Sundays. While I have adopted to and appreciate the more “relaxed” lifestyle here, sometimes I just want to do my grocery shopping on Sunday and go to the bank during my lunch break.

8. Peanut Butter.  Technically peanut butter exists in France, but it’s definitely not the same here. I’m the only person I know who brings PB&J or PB, honey and banana sandwiches to school. Peanut butter in France comes in teeny, tiny, expensive jars and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups are nowhere to be found. Here’s to hoping my peanut butter stash lasts through the end of the semester.

9. Iced Coffee. I’ve gotten fairly used to not having ice in my drinks in restaurants, but I definitely miss having iced coffee in the summer.

10. Dryers. Folding laundry from a drying rack just isn’t the same as folding clothes fresh from the dryer.

Leave a Reply

