Fun in Florence

I took a weekend trip to Florence to visit some friends from Elon!

I arrived late Friday night, checked into my hotel, and went to meet up in with my friends for a quick tour of the city. We were meeting at the Duomo (a huge cathedral in the middle of the city). It was only a short walk from my hotel and the receptionist said that it’s impossible to miss it because it’s the tallest building in the city. But, it was dark and I’m not the best with directions so I ended up wandering around for a good while before finally stumbling upon the Duomo. It was wonderful to see my friends and so helpful to get a tour of the city to help me get my bearing my first night there.

The next morning, I wandered around Florence taking photos of all of the sights I saw the night before. Then I went with my friends to see the David in the Accademia and ate at Gusta Pizza for lunch. After lunch we got stopped to eat gelato (mandatory in Italy) and then trekked up to the Piazzale Michelangelo to get an amazing view of Florence! We continued on to the see the historical San Miniato al Monte church and were treated to another breathtaking view of the city. That evening, we went to an aperitivo for dinner–with the purchase of a cocktail, you get to eat an all you can eat buffet. It was delicious and so much fun!

Sunday morning, I climbed the belltower of the Duomo. The 414 step climb was definitely worth it when I got to the top and saw more gorgeous views of the city! My ticket to the belltower also included entrance to the Duomo museum. Most of the museum was under construction, but it was still cool to learn more about the history of the church. That afternoon meet up with one of my friends and we wandered around a market before grabbing lunch. Our next stop was the palazzo pitti palace museum. The museum is filled with old books and letters, gorgeous ornate rooms filled with paintings, as well as some more recent artwork. The palace is enormous and all of the artwork is gorgeous, I walked up at least 150 more steps there…I was definitely sore the next day. I got more gelato that afternoon (while in Italy…eat gelato) and enjoyed walking around the city and seeing more sites before I had to head to the airport for my flight.

Thanks to my friends for showing me around Florence 🙂 I had so much fun catching up with y’all and absolutely loved my time there!

Check out some photos from my trip below!

 2014-04-27 09.41.35      2014-04-26 09.11.21  2014-04-26 14.59.32     2014-04-26 09.00.19     2014-04-26 09.25.25 2014-04-26 14.47.19   2014-04-26 14.48.56 2014-04-26 15.00.18     2014-04-26 15.40.46 2014-04-27 09.51.15     2014-04-26 10.00.07 2014-04-26 09.48.34     2014-04-26 10.06.55

Leave a Reply

