School Days

In France, I am attending Reims Management School (RMS). RMS recently partnered with another business school in France, Rouen, and the schools together have a new name: NEOMA Business School.

RMS (NEOMA) has 7 different programs and I am participating in CESEM (Centre d’Etudes Supérieures Européennes de Management) program. CESEM is a dual degree program. RMS has partnered with schools in more than 8 countries. Students begin their studies at RMS or at one of the partner schools.  For their third and fourth years, they study at RMS (if they began their studies at one of the partner schools) or at one of the partner schools. I am currently in CESEM 3. To learn more CESEM about it, you can visit their website:  http://www.cesem-rms.fr/en/home-page-cesem.

I started school Monday, September 2 (yes, it has taken me a while to post this). The first week of school was intensive French classes. That week I had three classes: grammaire (grammar), institutions (French history),  and français pratique (practical french–I learned vocab for the phone, bank, etc.). At the end of the week, we took a written test on French grammar and gave a group presentation. These were used to place us in French classes for the semester. There are 8 levels of these French classes, 1-8, with 1 being the highest level and 8 being the lower level of French.

My favorite part of CESEM is being in classes with international students. I learn so much from just talking with everyone. And I now know people from Spain, England, Ireland, Germany, Mexico, China, and Italy, which is super cool.

After the first week of intensive French, I started my classes for the semester. My class schedule is a little complicated and very different than it was at Elon. I am taking 13 classes this semester. Yes, I know. It’s a lot. All my classes are, for the most part, with the same group of people. After the French placement test we took the previous week, we were placed into one of four groups–A, B, C, or D. This is the group of people we have class with. I am in group D. I am also taking two French classes for the language. One of them is with the other people who were placed the same level of French that I was placed in (7, if you’re curious). The other french class is for extra French grammar practice and there a people from levels 6, 7, and 8 in it.

Classes are taught in 1.5 hour blocks with 15 between classes. But, most of my classes are two 1.5 hour blocks, or 3 hours long, with a break halfway through. At Elon, the longest classes (other than labs) were 1 hour and 40 minutes. I didn’t like those classes because they were so long. Needless to say, I’ve been having to adjust to having 3 hour classes. Additionally, my class schedule changes every week. My classes vary in the number of credit hours which means that I have some classes for 15 hours total, and others for 45 hours total. This combined with the number of classes I am taking, means that I am picking up and dropping classes throughout the semester. So, I have a schedule that has my class schedule mapped out everyday for the semester. Some days I have one class, others I have three or four. In general, Mondays and Thursdays are my shortest days and Wednesdays and Fridays are the longest. Also, some days I finish classes at 1:00 and other days I am in class from 8:00 to 5:30. It’s definitely going to take some time to get used to this schedule.

I’m still adjusting to the schedule and having all of my classes in French, but so far so good!

And now, I’m almost all caught up with my blog posts 🙂

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

